Complaints - Please scroll to the bottom of the page
« Ex CEO | Main | CEO »


I guess I got it right - here is the Press Release that has just come from TCDC. I will comment further later, both on the departure of Steve Ruru, and the new appointee

Council appoints new Chief Executive

A new Chief Executive for the Thames-Coromandel District Council has been appointed.

The new appointment is David Hammond, who is currently the Chief Executive of the Ruapehu District Council, a position he has held for over 4 years.

Mayor Glenn Leach said of the announcement today, "the project to recruit a Chief Executive started back in April and we've advertised far and wide and run a very rigorous process, which included short-listed candidates fronting for a panel interview with all Councillors and Community Board Chairs".

"David was the successful candidate at the end of the day and I am very pleased to announce his appointment. David has had a successful time with the Ruapehu District Council, which operates in a district with similar characteristics to ours, with a vital tourism industry and a large absentee rate payer-base; he is also well regarded in the tourism industry and brings to the role experience in economic development and developing strong community partnerships".

"Steve Ruru, our current Chief Executive, has been in the job close to 14 years and has navigated the Council successfully through some difficult times as well as implementing some major projects to overcome the district's infrastructure and internal capacity deficits".

"The Council is embarking on a new journey and the elected members simply believe it's now time for a change".

The new Chief Executive will start in the role in January 2012.



PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>